is rolling out a major new update, which is leaving some users confused and frustrated.

The company has made significant changes to the app, and .

However, that’s unlikely to happen anytime soon, as .

Here’s how to use the new version of Snapchat.

Gadgets and tech news in pictures Gadgets and tech news in pictures Where to find Stories

You used to be able to access your friends’ Stories by swiping left on the main camera screen. The update changes this.

Now, you have to swipe right on the camera screen, to the new Friends screen. 

The Friends screen

As well as Stories, the Friends screen contains your friends’ Snaps and messages. 

It looks somewhat messy, and Snapchat’s decision to bunch all of these updates on one page appears to be the biggest source of confusion for users.  

How to watch Stories

If one of your friends has posted a Story you haven’t yet watched, you’ll see a circular preview bubble net to their name. To watch the Story, tap the bubble.

After you watch a friend’s Story, you’ll see a preview of another friend’s Story. You can tap the screen to watch it, swipe to skip it or swipe down to exit.

To re-watch a friend’s Story after you’ve already seen it, you need to open their profile by tapping their bitmoji on the Friends screen.

How to find your friends

Stories are no longer ordered chronologically.

The Friends screen instead ranks your friends “based on who you keep in touch with the most and who’s contacted you most recently”, Snapchat says.

That means the easiest way to find new Stories from anyone who doesn’t qualify as a top friend could be to type their name into the search bar at the top of the Friends screen.

How to send Snaps

When you take a Snap and try to send it to someone, you’ll find the new-look Send To screen.

The eight people you interact with most on Snapchat sit front and centre of this, and right at the top are options to add a new Story to My Story, Our Story or Group Stories. 

Managing your own Stories

You can add your own Stories by tapping the Snapchat logo in the top-left corner of the main camera screen.

This is also the place to see your Story views and delete Snaps from your Story.

The Discover screen

Swiping left on the camera screen, meanwhile, takes you to the Discover screen. 

Here’s where you can access Shows, content from publishers, Stories from people you follow – but aren’t friends with – and Snaps from creators, Snap Map and Our Story.

To see less of a certain type of content on Discover, you can tap and hold a tile and hit “See Less Like This” or “Unsubscribe”.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here